2016 Fright Meter Award Nominations Announced!

The 2016 Fright Meter Award nominations have been announced!  The Witch leads with nine nominations, including Best Horror Movie, Best Director, and Best Actress.  Krampus follows close behind with seven nominations.  Other notable nominees include The Invitation, Don't Breathe, and Vera Farmiga, who scores a record fourth acting nomination for her performance as Lorraine Warren in The Conjuring 2.

The Fright Meter Awards, now in their ninth year, are a registered non profit organization dedicated solely to honoring the year's best in horror.   The nominations and winners are determined by the Fright Meter Award committee, a group comprised of over 50 individuals involved in some facet of the genre, including bloggers, producers, directors, and actors.  

The full list of the 2016 nominations is below.  The winners will be announced on January 31st, 2017. 

Best Horror Movie
Don’t Breathe
Green Room
The Invitation
The Witch

Best Director
Fede Alvarez (Don’t Breathe)
Michael Dougherty (Krampus)
Robert Eggers (The Witch)
Karyn Kasuma (The Invitation)
James Wan (The Conjuring 2)

Best Actor In A Leading Role
John Goodman (10 Cloverfield Lane)
Stephen Lang (Don’t Breathe)
Logan Marshall-Green (The Invitation)
Henry Rollins (He Never Died)
Anton Yelchin (Green Room)

Best Actress In A Leading Role
Vera Farmiga (The Conjuring 2)
Jane Levy (Don’t Breathe)
Kate Siegel (Hush)
Anya Taylor-Joy (The Witch)
Mary Elizabeth Winstead (10 Cloverfield Lane)

Best Actor In A Supporting Role
Richard Brake (31)
John Gallagher Jr. (10 Cloverfield Lane)
Ralph Ineson (The Witch)
Dong-soek Ma (Train to Busan)
Patrick Stewart (Green Room)

Best Actress In A Supporting Role
Tammy Blanchard (The Invitation)
Kate Dickie (The Witch)
Melynda Kiring (All Through the House)
Jena Malone (The Neon Demon)
Imogen Poots (Green Room)

Best Screenplay
10 Cloverfield Lane  (Josh Campbell, Matthew Stuecken & Damien Chazelle)
Don’t Breathe  (Fede Alvarez & Rodo Sayagues)
The Invitation  (Phil Hay & Matt Manfredi)
Krampus  (Todd Casey, Michael Dougherty & Zach Shields)
The Witch  (Robert Eggers)

Best Makeup

Best Special Effects
10 Cloverfield Lane
The Conjuring 2
Light’s Out
The Shallows

Best Score
31  (Chris Harris, John 5, Bob Marlette & Rob Zombie)
Green Room  (Brooke Blair & Will Blair)
Krampus  (Douglas Pipes)
The Neon Demon  (Cliff Martinez)
The Witch  (Mark Korven)

Best Editing
10 Cloverfield Lane  (Stefan Grube)
Don’t Breathe  (Eric L. Beason, Louise Ford & Gardner Gould)
The Invitation  (Plummy Tucker)
Krampus  (John Axelrad)
The Witch  (Louise Ford)

Best Cinematography
The Conjuring 2  (Don Burgess)
The Invitation  (Bobby Shore)
The Neon Demon  (Natasha Braier)
The Shallows  (Flavio Martinez Labiano)
The Witch  (Jarin Blaschke)

Best Short Horror Film
Heir  (Richard Powell)
Killer Friends  (Zach Noe Towers & Tina Carbone)
Night Stalker  (Mike Anderson, Ryan Dickie & Abigail Horton)
Sandman  (Liam Banks)
The Stylist  (Jill Gevargizian)

No comments:

Post a Comment